Spin Cycle – A Published Piece

This piece was published last summer by Hot Valley Writers.

http://www.hotvalleywriters.com/

Check Back Issues section, Summer 2016.

Spin Cycle

Trapped in a box

Feeling like I might drown

Struggling to keep my head above the water

I’m banging on the lid and trying to get out

Someone flips the switch

It’s the spin cycle

The box rumbles to a stop

And the water is gone

But I’m left dizzy and cold

On the cutting room floor

Just as my head begins to clear

I hear the cascade of a waterfall

I’m back to fighting for my life

The box is full now

And I can’t breathe

It’s instant agitation

I’m shouting in my sleep

I need a muzzle

What asshole flipped it this time?

It’s the fucking spin cycle again…

Leave a Reply

